New Member from PA

Gridiron and Grouse

New Member from PA

Post by Gridiron and Grouse » Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:50 pm

Hello. I have some knowledge and past experience with bird dogs, but I know I still have a TON to learn. Both of my grandfathers were avid hunters and hunted over English Pointers and Brittanys. In my early teens I had a Brittany that I trained and hunted over. She wasn't the worlds greatest hunter, but not bad for a dog trained by a kid. As I got busier with sports we hunted less and eventually she simply became a pet and I left for school and she stayed with the family.

Now I've graduated and am spending my first year in the real world. I'm taking this year to acclimate to my job, coaching, etc and really compile knowledge on training etc so that I'm ready for a pup next year. I live in Northwest Pa. I'm extremely interested in a Vizsla any information on the breed anyone can pass along to me would be appreciated. I've read a lot so far, but there is always more.

I look forward to learning from and talking to all of you.

Idaho Outlaw

Post by Idaho Outlaw » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:03 pm

Welcome to the forum! Lot's of great information can be obtained here.

RoundRiver Setters

Post by RoundRiver Setters » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:23 pm

Welcome to GDF Gridiron...........Scott
"To be good, a bird dog must give you goose pimples when he's working a bird." 'George Bird Evans'
Scott & Shelley

Heartlands Outlaw Jesse
Stevens Round River Babe
Setter Hills Blue Molly

Kiki's Mom

Post by Kiki's Mom » Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:33 pm

Welcome to GDF. I LOVE your handle! Gridiron and Grouse, perfect! Caught that you are a coach. What grade? Look to Linden's Kennels ( OH?) for a good Viszla, they put out some extremely nice dogs. There is also a breeder in Kansas who occasionally has pups. He puts out some really nice dogs too. His name s Dustin Oches and his most famous dog is/was DryCreek's Pappo-Matic ( Pappy sadly passed away last year to cancer).