Hi All!!

Cobbhunts

Hi All!!

Post by Cobbhunts » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:16 am

I have been a member for a little while, but just lurking and trying to get a feel for the forum. There's a lot of good info here!! I have a pup coming in early May after a 1 year wait. They whelped on 3/11! Its a Pudelpointer and I have 1st pick of the males. I'm 35 with 2 girls aged 5.5 and 2.5. They are excited, but I'm pretty sure they aren't as excited as I am. This will be my first "gun dog" of sorts. I did grow up with beagles, but I have zero experience in training. I've read tons of info and have ordered a couple of books geared towards versatile dog training. I also joined the nearest NAVHDA chapter back in December. They were blown away that is joined them before even having a pup on the ground. But I figured as far behind as I am, I need to take in all of the info I can get. Great bunch of people and they have answered all of my newb questions!!

Anyway, glad to be here. I can't offer much to the forum in the way of gun dogs yet, but I have over 25 years of experience in the whitetail woods if there's ever a topic that needs input!
Thanks!!!

gspjeb

Re: Hi All!!

Post by gspjeb » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:31 pm

welcome Cobb! relatively new to the site as well. Good luck with the Pudelpointer....I find myself drawn to the same breed currently.

Cobbhunts

Post by Cobbhunts » Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:09 am

Mine can't get here fast enough. I'm excited for sure!!

Fithunter

Post by Fithunter » Sat Mar 29, 2014 11:46 am

Welcome to the forum. What breeding is your PP from? I have a one year old PP. She's been an amazing dog. You'll be really impressed at how much natural ability your pup has.

I am doing NAVHDA and like it but honestly the best thing I did was get the perfect start perfect finish DVD. It's an awesome tool for a newbie. I feel like it really teaches you to be a good trainer just from following the videos.