Saddle Questions - what type?

nj gsp

Saddle Questions - what type?

Post by nj gsp » Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:23 pm

I posted this on another site, thought I'd post here too - always helpful to get lots of opinions!

So, I have some questions about saddles, but I should give a little background first:

In February 2011 my wife was diagnosed with colon cancer - stage 4, it had already spread to her liver. 45 is too young to have colon cancer - usually it's not something they look for until you're 50. It's been a rough road, but although her liver is inoperable, with chemo and radiation it's been knocked back to where she's doing pretty well and is feeling pretty well too. I went to a field trial back in August where there were rental horses available, and I got the idea that as my wife loves horses, maybe we could go trail riding. It would be something fun my wife & I could do together.

I've got lots of experience mucking stalls, and I had been under a horse once - pulled and re-shoed a horse under the supervision of a farrier friend (which made it abundantly clear I was not made to be a farrier) but I'd never ridden before. When I suggested to my wife we rent some horses and go trail riding, she said, "You are not going trail riding until you take some lessons first."

So we started taking western riding lessons together back in August. Although she was a little rusty at first, my wife is an English rider with some jumping experience. She's been a horse girl since her first lesson when she was 7, and she got her first horse at 12, so she has really been enjoying getting back into riding. I'm having a good time too, and just wish we'd started riding together sooner.