Getting Started with Pigeons

labman626

Getting Started with Pigeons

Post by labman626 » Thu May 02, 2013 11:15 am

I am looking to get started with homing pigeons for dog training. I want about 40 pigeons to start with and I am looking for some plans to an inexpensive loft to build. Any suggestions or ideas I would appreciate. Can you buy already trained homing pigeons if so how do you train them to get acustomed to your loft? I would also like to keep about 20 barn pigeons at all times to shoot for the dogs occasionally.

rinker

Re: Getting Started with Pigeons

Post by rinker » Thu May 02, 2013 12:27 pm

Search this site and you should find dozens of threads about this. I am no expert, but I will try to answer you basic questions. Every resource that I can find says 2 square feet per pigeon. So your homer loft would need to be about 80 square feet. Based upon my own experience keeping pigeons and building lofts I would tell you that ventilation is the key, I don't think you can have too much. Your feral pigeon loft would need to be about 40 square feet unless your keeping them short term and then you could get by with smaller. You will not have consistent, or good, results getting adult homers that have already flown to home to your loft. You will need to get young unflown homers, or breeding pairs and let their offspring fly but not the breeding pairs.

AZ Brittany Guy

Post by AZ Brittany Guy » Thu May 02, 2013 8:14 pm

labman626 wrote:I am looking to get started with homing pigeons for dog training. I want about 40 pigeons to start with and I am looking for some plans to an inexpensive loft to build. Any suggestions or ideas I would appreciate. Can you buy already trained homing pigeons if so how do you train them to get acustomed to your loft? I would also like to keep about 20 barn pigeons at all times to shoot for the dogs occasionally.
Why 40? Seems like a lot. I have 12 dogs and 30 is plenty for me. I train no more than 4 dogs per day and 12 is enough.