Not getting my pigeons

MTO4Life

Not getting my pigeons

Post by MTO4Life » Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:51 am

I'm new to this pigeon trapping thing, and have a question about why I can't catch them. I've done like I've read on this site. I've put my trap at a highway patrol yard on an out roof of a salt shed. I can see at least 20 pigeons on the hydro wires in plain view of the trap. I put the trap upside down and baited it with a few pounds of corn in it and at the entrances to get them used to the trap and the corn. Problem is, they aren't touching the corn. It has been there for about a week and a half, and they MAY have eaten one cup of the corn. That's a big maybe, and I'm assuming it is them. Is there anything I'm doing wrong that you can see, or should I try something different (or another place perhaps?). I'd like to catch them for some birds to work with the dog. Thanks.

3Britts

Re: Not getting my pigeons

Post by 3Britts » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:04 am

I'd start by putting all of the corn by the trap and none inside. This gets the pigeons used to the trap. It may take them a couple of weeks. You could also buy a couple of pigeons to put inside the trap to entice the ferral birds closer. Just make sure that the birds in the trap have food and water, oh and shade if it is needed. The wild birds will hear the caged ones eating and join them. This has worked for me. Good luck.

outdrguyjr

Post by outdrguyjr » Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:18 am

I had a similar problem until I tied the bobs up for about a week so that the pigeons could get comfortable going in and out of the cage freely to feed. Once I noticed that the corn was begining to be eaten I lowered one bob...then a few days later the other...and what do you know...I have been catching them ever since. Just remember pigeons are creatures of habit...so once they are used to the cage you should have no problems. Good luck...

tommyboy72
GDF Junkie

Post by tommyboy72 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:56 am