just curious

Merle

just curious

Post by Merle » Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:35 pm

I am fairly new to bird dogs and wonder when a dog smells scent do you think it can tell how far away the game is? or does he just instinctively go on point as soon as they smell the scent? I know there are alot of variables such as wind, cover etc. but every once in a while I get the feeling when my dog gets birdy at first scent and then tries to get close almost like she knows how far away the bird is when she first picks up the scent. Sometimes they point and the bird will be within a couple of feet from her nose and sometimes she goes on point and the bird will be several feet away from her nose? Just wonderin....?

BrittGSP818

Re: just curious

Post by BrittGSP818 » Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:25 pm

Merle when you smell the scent of nice sacullent roast im sure you know how far that baby is from you... same with dogs. The scent gets stronger the closer they get, but the reason they get close to the bird is becasue they are pen raised birds. Wild birds never let a dog get close to them (most), they either fly or run away. After hunting or training on pen raised and then taking a dog out to hunt wild birds they learn that birds with human scent (pen raised) will hold until they are closer. Birds that dont have human scent will fly sooner, so they point as soon as they pick up scent. Also, they might begin to point further away when you change your training area or routine, they see this as something new and will point a bit further than usual to test the birds out. It can also be wind conditions, they might not pick up scent then the wind changes and they are right on top of the bird. Hope this helps.

George

GSPlover

Post by GSPlover » Sun Jun 27, 2010 6:52 pm