Need Kennel Ideas

brentonlwin

Need Kennel Ideas

Post by brentonlwin » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:49 pm

Hello everyone,

I am in the process of building a house and I'm at the point where I need to start on a kennel. I was hoping I could get some ideas and pics of some of your kennels. My wife would prefer that I put in some type of septic or treatment tank to cut down on the smell. I've never done that before and was hoping that some of you may have a setup like that. I have three dogs and I hope that I won't have to kennel them much but would like to build it as if they were going to be spending a lot of time in there. I may breed one later on so I'm trying to keep that in mind as well.

Anyway, any suggestions or pics would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Brent

PntrRookie
GDF Junkie

Re: Need Kennel Ideas

Post by PntrRookie » Mon Jul 26, 2010 12:59 pm

Brent, I too am in your position and would love to see/hear some feedback regarding kennel setup and septic. I found the picture below on a forum and really liked the simple layout.

Also "Drifter Saver" sent me a link to his kennel site (hope he doesn't mind me sharing) that shows a nice kennel...http://www.deadendkennels.com/kennelsandtraining.htm

brentonlwin

Post by brentonlwin » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:04 pm

That looks nice. I wonder how it drains? Seems like it must have a drain since it is closed on on 3 sides.

Thanks for the info.

Brent

The Zephyr

Post by The Zephyr » Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:28 pm

You would hope there is some sort of ACO channel drain on the interior of the knee wall. It appears the roof downspout is terminating there.

Again, Mason is probably the best and one of the most expensive kennel systems and the amount of roofing over the runs will be dictated by your climate.

Radiant heat on the interior slab if you can afford it.

jl
FC AFC Fieldmaster's Montauk Zephyr
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/genview.php?id=324

Fieldmaster's Oregon Road Phosphorus