Anyone with experience with Sm Munsterlander or Ge Longhairs

mbathke

Anyone with experience with Sm Munsterlander or Ge Longhairs

Post by mbathke » Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:10 am

I have been looking at getting a new hunting dog for quite some time and think I have my selection narrowed down to two different breeds, either a Small Munsterlander or German Longhair, I think. I have no experience with either of these breeds and was hoping that maybe a few people on this forum had, and they could give me some advice as to which breed may be better suited for me. I am also open to other breed suggestions as long as it is not a lab.

In the past my pheasant hunting companians have been German Shorthairs and Wirehairs, Britany Spaniels, and currently I hunt with Gordon Setters that my parents breed. I love hunting pheasant with the Gordon Setters as they are more my speed then Brittanies, and they have a much better temperment than our GSP or GWP's had. The Gordons make great pets as well as they have a great temperment and do very well as a house dog. However, only two of the 5 Gordons my parents have will do water retrieves reliably and they really don't like doing it, ecspecially when it is cold and windy out, and I can't blame them, they have a thick long coat that can really soak up the water.