Which blank pistol to get :?:

GSP in Philly

Which blank pistol to get :?:

Post by GSP in Philly » Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:36 am

I have a 5 month old GSP that I need to introduce to the gun. I have started by shooting a cap gun while he is eating and he doesnt notice that at all. I am a beginner at training and I do not hunt so any help is appreciated. I was wondering what type of blank pistol I should get. A .32, a .22 or a shotgun primer pistol. It would be used for training and also used for hunt tests/ field trials.

pear

Post by pear » Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:50 am

GSP in Philly, I'd go with the .32 for two reasons one being some Hunt Tests require at least .32, and second and most important too me is the 32 can have a sleeve placed in the cylinder so you can use primers. The .22 is just limited to .22. Just my thoughts which don't make it right but I think it makes sense. ..."pear"
"When I was a kid, I used to pray every night for a new "puppy". Then I realized that the Lord, in his wisdom, didn't work that way. So I just stole one and asked him to forgive me".

Arti
Nikki
Diamond
Bailey

Greg Jennings
GDF Junkie

Post by Greg Jennings » Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:51 am

The .32 is the loudest, followed by the primer pistol, followed by the .22.

If you only plan to run AKC trials, you don't need the .32. AKC rules say only that you can' t use the .22 "crimp" which is the quietest version.

There are a couple of routes to take. I bought a cheapie .22 and used crimps in my training early on. Then, because I reload and have primers around all the time, I bought a nice primer pistol.

Best regards,

birdshot

Post by birdshot » Sat Mar 11, 2006 9:04 am

i converted an old hr pistol to a dummy launcher. I use the blanks sold at the hardware store, .22 cal. These nail gun blanks are very loud, compared to a shotgun primer. i paid 4 dollars a hundred at lowes store in texas. not as cheap as primers but less than the 32 stuff.

birdshot