Trapping Pigeons

JasonM

Trapping Pigeons

Post by JasonM » Wed Mar 22, 2006 6:14 am

Whats the easiest way to trap pigeons? I found a place (lumber yard) that has pigeons, I know I need a pigeon trap, or can I build one? I assume you just use some kind of feed? Corn? Scratch feed? I'm new at this....thanks
Jason

crittercontrol

Post by crittercontrol » Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:43 am

If you are looking for a fairly inexpensive pigeon trap you can use the link below to purchase one.

http://www.wildlifemanagementsupplies.com/

Click on the Live traps link, then safe guard, then scroll down to the pigeon traps. They come in two sizes.

The traps will come with directions. I have found them to be very effective.

Good luck,

Caleb Stroh

Lawdog

Post by Lawdog » Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:01 am

You can build or buy. When you find your spot, feed them without your trap there, then when you can tell they are used to feeding in that spot put out your trap. It helps if you place a pigeon inside the trap to help coax the others.

Use any kind of cracked corn, scratch or grain.

Good luck

SteveB

Post by SteveB » Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:57 am

Just sprinkle a little salt on their tail :lol:
Steve

TNovoa

Post by TNovoa » Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:00 pm

If you know of a place where they roost at night, and it's legal for you to go there, take a spotlight and a net. You'll get a large quantity in a short period of time. We visit the overpasses occasionally.

crittercontrol

Post by crittercontrol » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:14 pm

Lawdog wrote:You can build or buy. When you find your spot, feed them without your trap there, then when you can tell they are used to feeding in that spot put out your trap. It helps if you place a pigeon inside the trap to help coax the others.

Use any kind of cracked corn, scratch or grain.

Good luck
Glad you made it to the forums! It was nice to meet you at the trial.

Always,

Caleb Stroh

Jon E

Post by Jon E » Thu Mar 23, 2006 7:52 am