What should a GSP cost? Your views wanted.

Cardinal Fan

What should a GSP cost? Your views wanted.

Post by Cardinal Fan » Wed Apr 05, 2006 3:48 pm

Greetings to all!

I am new here, just registered today. I registered, as I am looking for thoughts and views from GSP owners.

Personally, I am interested in purchasing a GSP. However, I want to make sure I pay a "fair" price for the type of dog I am looking for. I know GSP can live a long life and I want to do this right the first time. I admit, I am a novie when it comes to GSP, but I have been reading as much information as a mind can soak in. Plus, i have been talking to some GSP owners/hunters.

I am a hunter and I want to purchase a liver/ mainly liver pup for hunting. I am not a professional hunter and I do not intend to purchase a professional hunting dog either, but I expect a good pup. Yes, I know training it vital to a good dog and will be done.

I know my question is vague, due to many circumstances that one has to look at. I am just looking for personal opinons on the following;

1. A grade pup = A pup who comes from great bloodlines and from a well known breeder. For example, the parents are classified as both Master Hunters

expected cost range?

2. B grade pup = A pup who comes from "great" bloodlines and a good breeder, but not as well known as Breeder A. Both parents being classified as Master Hunter also.

expected cost range?

3. C grade pup = A pup with "good" bloodlines coming from well known breeders. Maybe one parent or grandparents who are registed Master Hunters.

expected cost?

I know my questions are some what vague, as there could be a ton of different circumstances/personal opinions involved, etc.

Plus, could you folks please give me your top 3-5 choices of great GSP breeders?

I have spent hourrrrrs on the net reading and have visted a ton of sites, but I value you GSP owners thoughts and opinions. I just want to make sure my choice is correct after doing as much research as possible.