Bell at Field Trial??

Knightfarms

Bell at Field Trial??

Post by Knightfarms » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:02 pm

If my pup is off leash, he's wearing a bell... and that's how I usually do it.

Someone today told me that the bell is frowned upon in field trials. He's running in puppy classes this weekend, so please let me know your thoughts
-Cheryl
I'm new to the game, please don't shoot me :)

He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion. -Unknown

ultracarry
GDF Junkie

Re: Bell at Field Trial??

Post by ultracarry » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:15 pm

As long as the judges don't mind/not against the rules, go for it. Most important thing is getting into it.

Ahumphers91a

Post by Ahumphers91a » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:46 pm

What are you going to do when the dog goes on point...sory, thinks bells are a waste.

mudhunter

Post by mudhunter » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:51 pm

in the northeast region bells are in all cover dog stakes and many of the guys that compete in both cover dog and walking quail trials will use bells in quail trials. Other than that I have never seen a bell on a horseback dog.

topher40
GDF Junkie

Post by topher40 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:57 pm

Depending on the venue they may allow it. AFTCA trials DONT. Really the only thing the bell does is to make you more comfortable. Has nothing to do with the dog whatsoever.
Chris E. Kroll
CEK Kennels
http://www.cekkennels.com
785-288-0461

Governments govern best when governments governs least

-Thomas Paine

remmy

Post by remmy » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:59 pm