Introduction/ Seeking local Idaho advice

Idahohunter

Introduction/ Seeking local Idaho advice

Post by Idahohunter » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:54 pm

Hello everyone! I am new to the forum and fairly new to dog training. I grew up in Boise hunting chukar in the Owyhees and upland game everywhere else. I graduated from college this past year and I am itching to get another dog. I recently found this gold mine of a forum a couple days ago and have been reading as much as I can. I have probably quadrupled my knowledge just over the last few days but I am looking for some local advice now. I intend to get a dog february '12 and was hoping someone on the forum could recommend some good local breeders of good chukar hunting brittanies or GSP. And probably more importantly, I was hoping someone could give me some recommendations of mentors/trainers/organizations in Idaho or Eastern Oregon (the closer to Boise the better).

Thanks for the help in advance.

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Re: Introduction/ Seeking local Idaho advice

Post by gonehuntin' » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:41 am

You are very close to Paul Trout of Vomorion Kennels in Caldwell, and Jeff Funke, a well known trainer in the Boise area. Paul breeds Drahthaars, and I believe Jeff does as well. They can tell you who to go to for the dog you want.
LIFE WITHOUT BIRD DOGS AND FLY RODS REALLY ISN'T LIFE AT ALL.

Gordon Guy

Post by Gordon Guy » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:42 pm

Hello and welcome,
I also live in the Treasure Valley and there are several good resources for all things bird dog related in the area, The German Shorthair Pointer club of Idaho http://www.gspcidaho.org/ is located here. Take a look at their links page and there are several other dog clubs listed there. I belong to the club and there's a lot of good folks that are experienced and willing to help.

As for recommendations of breeders for GSP's and Brit's I can't help there. I do know where you can get a good Gordon :)