Cancun

dog dr

Cancun

Post by dog dr » Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:51 pm

Anybody ever been there?? thinking about booking a trip for my wife and me, for her CHristmas gift. Just not real sure about it, as i have never been out of the country. What resorts do you recommend, is it okay to do this withOUT a travel agent, am i gonna get kidnapped??? tell me what you know, please.

GUNDOGS
GDF Junkie

Re: Cancun

Post by GUNDOGS » Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:57 pm

Was there for spring break in 1990 the year i graduated highschool :mrgreen: sorry its all a blur 8) ...ruth
GUNDOGS SHORTCREEK IRON HORSE (HARLEY)

postoakshorthairs

Post by postoakshorthairs » Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:02 pm

I've been to Mexico twice (and several other places like it). The kidnapping problems are mainly on the other coastline and are in areas that as a tourist I wouldn't go anyway. We use a travel agent because I want someone to contact if things aren't right. We had a friend buy a trip from an online site and they gave them a European package instead of the all inclusive package they bought. Long story short...they had to charge everything then try to recoup the money. Go to http://www.trip adviser.com and check out the reviews and travel forums for the right place. Keep in mind that there's always someone who will complain about something. I took my wife to the Dominican last year and booked an adult only trip in a swim up suite...it was awesome. I haven't stayed in cancun but we stayed at a Riu resort in the riveiera Maya and it was very nice. Most of the time you can spend a little extra and get a bottom floor room with an ocean view. I personally wouldn't book a room too far from the ocean because I want a short walk but it's not important to some people.

Gertie

Post by Gertie » Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:08 pm

Check out Telum and Isle De Mujeres. Some really cool snorkeling or scuba diving around there as well as some fantastic ruins. Jealous btw.