Releasing pigeons for first time

t-setter

Releasing pigeons for first time

Post by t-setter » Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:56 am

I am new to the pigeon raising business and have a question about releasing birds. I have three pigeons that I acquired as young birds several months ago. I have not yet released any of the birds from their loft and want to begin to do so. Should I release one of them at a time and leave the other two in the loft, release a pair of them together or should I release all three at once? Thanks in advance for any advice.

ElhewPointer

Re: Releasing pigeons for first time

Post by ElhewPointer » Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:12 am

I'm no expert in pigeons, but the guy we got our birds from is a NUT. He has hundreds if not thousands and probably has a name for all of them. Anyway, he told me that the young birds need to kind of do it naturally. Open the loft door and let them walk outside on the perch board and explore. They'll go in and out and get comfortable with the outside of the loft. I did this. The first day they walked outside and checked stuff out. That evening I went out and closed the door. Next day, I went out and opened it, and then they flew on top of the loft. Next day they were on the barn. Their confidence grew. Kinda neat actually.

A side note. The man also told me to always do some kind of whistle when feeding them or watering them. Same whistle tone and tune everytime. I never knew why. Well, winter came and I was sick and tired of having to mess with the frozen water in the loft. What I did was stand by my horse waterer in the horse lot. I didn't water the birds for a day or so, went to the horse waterer did my whistle, they flew right over to me and started drinking. Never had to mess with their water again.

Brittguy

Post by Brittguy » Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:18 am

that is the way to do it. I have a empty coffee can with some pebbles inside.Just shake it and they come running for food.

DonF
GDF Junkie