Is this normal for a Brittany puppy?

cptn

Is this normal for a Brittany puppy?

Post by cptn » Wed May 23, 2012 7:01 pm

I've had dogs before, but many of my dogs have been an older age when I got them.

So, I'm a little new at puppies, and I'm even more new at gun dogs.

As I mentioned before, four days ago, I finally took home my 8 week old, male, American Brittany puppy, July. When I visited him at six weeks, he was seemed timid, sweet, but he was the largest puppy and the most playful of the litter.

Now that he's home, he's very aloof. He seems disinterested in me, the others that live in my house, and seems to prefer to be alone. He's very responsive when I'm training him, but his tail barely wags. He's not a licker, and he's a huge nipper/biter. Sometimes, he'll even lunge at me and bite extremely hard. When I talk to him in a sweet, gentle tone, he looks at me, but he doesn't seem excited at all.

The other day, I brought him to a friends to play with a 10 week old puppy, and he played for a little while, but after a bit, he seemed to be really annoyed with the puppy. Although my friend and her dog were all sitting on one area playing, he picked up a toy and went to sit across the yard to chew alone.

I picked the Brittany because everyone around where I am, my breeder, and many on the internet rave about how sweet, gentle, sociable, and loyal they are. So, for all of you Brittany owners, have you ever experienced this?

Is this just an adjustment phase since I've only have him four days? Is this normal? Or should I be doing something now about his behavior?

Is there anything I can do to make him more excited and sociable? I asked my friends and various people to feed him treats, and sometimes, I let him eat kibble out of my hand. I've also been teaching him to sit and wait to come out of his crate, through doors, at meal times, etc.

What do you guys think? He's a lovely dog, but it's getting frustrating, and honestly, it's making me a little sad.
---