stubborn GSP

WillieELk78GSP

stubborn GSP

Post by WillieELk78GSP » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:31 pm

I have a 13 week old GSP, I am new to Gspdog and gundog in general, this is my first dog.... I have been working with her on her here call and stay but she is very stubborn and won't listen unless I have a treat for her, I don't want her to get used to getting a treat everytime she does something as simple as "here" or "stay", any suggestions? She thinks its OK when I am calling her she runs away and will just run around and circle me at 90mph, I don't want her to get loose and get hit by a car, so I leash her now anytime we are outside, I want to give her some freedom but I can't trust her yet!! Thanks all
God Bless

Cajun Casey
GDF Junkie

Re: stubborn GSP

Post by Cajun Casey » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:45 pm

Go somewhere safe, like a fenced tennis court, and walk off and leave her when she takes off. Keep a checkcord on her, too. She's too young for stay.
Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig.

Ghosted3

Post by Ghosted3 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:19 am

Like casey said, get a 30ft or so check cord so you have some control over the pup, and it still has some room to roam. Let the pup be a pup for awhile. One of the best training tricks is to train in the morning and use the dog food as the "treat" and you can get the morning feed in during the workout. Also, if you are working the pup too long it is gonna go bonkers, so keep the training sessions short and leave them on a high note. 1-2 sessions a day of 15 min or so as a pup. And if you are working on retrieves try not to do more than 5 in the beginning.

Corry

Nick Miles

Post by Nick Miles » Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:57 am

Just an observation, but I was always of the opinion that a GSP that wasn't stubborn wasn't bred well enough. :)

Ghosted3

Post by Ghosted3 » Fri Jul 20, 2012 1:00 am