How Many Of You Run "Naked"? Why And How?

bigbob

How Many Of You Run "Naked"? Why And How?

Post by bigbob » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:03 pm

I was thinking this morning about all of the gadgets I have on my dog when we're out hunting, and started to wonder why. I understand all of the benefits of e-collars, gps units, launchers, etc, but was wondering how many of you that hunt wild birds in broken and steep country do it without all of the gadgets? I'm talking start to finish...no e-collars, launchers, gps units, etc in the training to finished hunting dog process. FYI, I am considering taking the e-collar off the dog, going to using all wild birds (running the dog in the bird hills) for training (I have an abundance of wild chukar, huns, and quail near me) to see if I could actually do it. I am a beginning trainer at best with a pretty bold 18 month old EP, but it seems like for a dog that you only want to be staunch on point, wild birds, a recall command, a turn command, and whoa (strictly for manners around the house) would be sufficient (kennel is a good one too). The big question for you guys that do it that way or a similar way is why do you do it that way, and how do you get there. These pointers seem to have selective hearing at 12-24 months (mine is in that age), and I wonder if I can take the stuff away and still put together a bird dog that is a pleasure to hunt over and with. Do you have to be willing to deal with occasional run-offs, or do you do other things to make sure things go great while in the field. My dog knows these commands, but needs a little "reminder" with the collar pretty regularly. What are your thoughts? Am I crazy to think that I could accomplish this with this particular and my future dogs? Again, I have nothing against the gadgets. I have way over $1,000 in electronics so I don't need convinced that they are very helpful. Necessary...no, helpful...yes. Let's hear all of you "minimalists"!

topher40
GDF Junkie