I am having trouble deciding which breed???

jegan

I am having trouble deciding which breed???

Post by jegan » Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:37 am

Having just settled into our own house, we are finally ready to get a dog. I have been researching for more than two years on which breed I would like to get. I pursue, waterfowl, upland, and fur. I want a dog that is going to be fine with the cold water of waterfowl, be able to go straight to the field for pheasant, grouse, woodcock, and dove, and also be able to track a wounded deer if possible. I live in Southern Ontario. It doesnt get as cold as the northern areas. I am only an hour from Detroit. However, it can get quite cold occasionally. The dog would also be a very large part of our family. We have two young children and many young nieces and nephews. There have been so many times that I am convinced of the breed that I am going to get. However, I find out a little bit more information about another breed and I become very interested in the other. I would like to get your experienced opinions. For the longest time, I wanted a pointing breed. I know the most about training a pointer and appreciate the style in which they hunt. As a result of this, I wanted a Vizsla. However, further research indicated that a good hunting blood line of Vizsla can be difficult to find due to their rarity. They also may not due well in the cold/water due to their lean body and short hair. Further research also indicated that they can be very rambunctious indoors and sometimes difficult to train since they do not mature until they are around two years old. However, they do have a great personality and their size is very nice. My next option which I was convinced of for the longest time was a German Shorthaired Pointer. They have proven to be truly versatile in all areas. However, again,further research indicated that they may not due well in the cold/water due to their lean body and short hair. Also, further research indicated that again, they