??EP as grouse and woodcock dogs??

JeffLex00

??EP as grouse and woodcock dogs??

Post by JeffLex00 » Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:43 am

This is probably a dumb question, but I figured I would run it past you guys on here and see what kind of experiences you might have had. I am currently hunting a GSP for grouse and woodcock in the northwoods of Wisconsin. I am very impressed by the looks and style of English Pointers. I am just curious if EP's can be good ruffed grouse dogs, or if their drive and running is just too strong to work a bird like the ruffed grouse that tends to bump pretty easy? I do my own training, and I am FAR from a professional, so training a dog to do something that is on the outside of it's natural ability/instinct is not going to be something that i am comfortable working towards. What are your opinions?

BigShooter
GDF Junkie

Re: ??EP as grouse and woodcock dogs??

Post by BigShooter » Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:42 am

Pointers are pretty far down the list of choices for reasons you mention. I'd be a lot more tempted to go another direction and add a setter to your family. There are no absolutes but setters are more often selected for grouse hunting because folks seem to have been happier with the way they work in the woods & handle grouse.

SHORTFAT

Post by SHORTFAT » Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:39 am

I live in Pa and grouse and woodcock are just about all we have to hunt, unless you want to count the pet birds the game commission calls Pa Pheasants... Mine does just fine. Lots of people have EP's and hunt the thick stuff... can you find an EP more suited to a horse back hunt on the prairie? Of course... But you will see plenty of EP's in the woods too. Find a breeder and a line of dogs you like, work on obedience and basic dog training 101 first... the dog will learn to hunt the wild birds with experience, wherever they are... My dog approaches a running rooster a lot differently than a grouse... find a dog you like, and have fun. good luck!

Mountaineer