Newbie questions about selecting a gun dog breed

Diogenes

Newbie questions about selecting a gun dog breed

Post by Diogenes » Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:49 pm

I posted this in my into thread, but I realize maybe this is more of a general topic so I thought I'd post it here as well. My apologies to the moderators if this is a faux pas. I'm new here.

My name is Matthew and I'm in Birmingham, AL. I recently moved back to Alabama after spending several years in the Washington, DC area. I'm new to gun dogs, in fact I've never really owned one. I've always been a bulldog guy and I've owned both french and english bulldogs in the last decade. I'm an avid hunter of game species found in the Southeast, and I'd like to expand that to upland birds and other species as well. My last (and first) English Bulldog is a bit long of tooth, and I'm thinking about getting a gun dog for my next companion when her time finally comes. A few other things about me, I'm 31 years old, I'm a nurse at a major academic medical center, and I have small children at home.