Getting Spayed

DaveyCroketJr

Getting Spayed

Post by DaveyCroketJr » Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:34 pm

Hey guys got a question for everone. My GSP will be 6 months old this week and in Dec. and since i do not plan to breed her i want to have her spayed. The problem is someone told me the other day this will take alot of the hunt out of her. I have never heard that before but i wnat to make sure not to do anything that will keep her from being as good. I am new at the bird dog thing so please help me out.

Brittguy

Post by Brittguy » Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:37 pm

Will not make a bit of difference concerning hunting desire.I feel there will be a tendency to gain weight but you can control that.

I had a field champion that had to be spayed due to pyrometra. She won many trials afterward.

mtlee

Post by mtlee » Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:45 pm

I spayed my GSP at that age and it made no difference in her at all...she is now 20 months. Take advantage of the day or two after the surgery when she's still drugged up...they sleep like babies!

markerdown

Post by markerdown » Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:50 pm

There are 2 schools of thought here. One is the animal control folks who advocate to spay and neuter early to avoid any unwanted pups. Second is the breed folks who will tell you to wait until your dog is mature to allow it to develope physically to it's full growth potential. Personally, I do not breed my GSPs. However, after spay and neutering my male and female @6 months. I won't do it again. I'll wait until my present male pup is around 2yrs so he can develop fully. Lots of folks will give you a ton of reasons as to spay/neuter early or not. My female did gain a bit of weight and I feel that 6 months did not allow enough estrogen for her to fully develope muscle mass. There are plenty of vets that will aregue the point, but I'm speaking from experience as a GSP owner and hunter. Spay and neuter, but wait till they grow up. That's my .02.........................markerdown