I'm Getting A Puppy!

agilityHBIC

I'm Getting A Puppy!

Post by agilityHBIC » Tue May 27, 2014 8:00 pm

Hi all! I just put my deposit down for my next French Brittany pp even though the breeding doesn't take place until next spring..whoops!
I haven't had a puppy in nine years and this will be my first actual field trialling dog (my current French girl is an agility/obedience dog). Any tips/books/DVDs you guys want to throw my way? Also any introductory stuff would be great.. I'm a total newbie! Thanks in advance :D

Trekmoor
GDF Junkie

Re: I'm Getting A Puppy!

Post by Trekmoor » Wed May 28, 2014 4:15 am

Get the pup into gamey places as soon as possible. Most brittanies take very naturally to hunting and pointing. Retrieving can be another matter and with some pups, the more they enjoy hunting , the less they want to retrieve. If you intend training F.F. this may not be a problem but if you want the so called "natural retrieve" then try to ensure the pup enjoys a couple of retrieves from time to time.

I have found that with Brittany pups more than with any other breed of gundog , brits that do not like retrieving bumpers do like retrieving game.

My brit pup with pheasant runners almost as big as she is ! :lol:

Have fun with your pup

Bill T.

DonF
GDF Junkie

Post by DonF » Wed May 28, 2014 9:15 am