What breed to buy? NEW GUY NEEDS HELP!

NewHunter1987

What breed to buy? NEW GUY NEEDS HELP!

Post by NewHunter1987 » Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:53 am

I am new to this page and new to hunting in general. I started duck hunting last year and enjoyed it very much, since my introduction to hunting I have become very interested in bird dogs. I have researched a lot about the different options and have concluded that I am a big fan of both the GSP and the Labs. My goal would be to get two dogs that can hike, camp, hunt ducks and some upland game, while at the same time being a good indoor dog and good with my 1 year old daughter and a wife who enjoys a clean house:).

What do you suggest? Can a GSP safely duckhunt in the cold Utah winters? Are the GSP and the Lab good options for what I am looking for? Help and advice is very much appreciated.

DonF
GDF Junkie

Re: What breed to buy? NEW GUY NEEDS HELP!

Post by DonF » Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:19 pm

I suspect that a wirehair might be what you really need. Much better in cold water than a shorthair. If you want two, Lab and a shorthair is hard to beat. A lot of people like the Boykin spaniel but I have no idea how well it handles real cold water.

Brazosvalleyvizslas

Post by Brazosvalleyvizslas » Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:11 pm

Although a GSP could do what you want, I think a Lab fits your criteria better.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:13 pm

You said : "hunt ducks and some upland..." I assume late season waterfowl hunting too.

As waterfowl seem to be your priority , I'd go with a German Wirehaired Pointer , Pudelpointer, Wire-haired Pointing Griffon or or lab. ( I'm sorry but no matter what you get, your house will never be as clean again. :) ) ** Pick a reputable breeder and watch his/her dogs hunt if possible.

polmaise
GDF Junkie

Post by polmaise » Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:37 pm