Training question.

ROLLAND731

Training question.

Post by ROLLAND731 » Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:43 pm

I have a 10 month old male gsp. He has been doing great with training. But now I think he's turned gun shy. I started out with small calibers from far away an worked close. He. Always did fine. After some time we worked up to a 20ga. Same thing. Far away he was ok. Steadily moved closer. But first shot over him he freaked. Now seems nervous around anything. How can I fix this? Should I just start over from the beginning?

High Voltage

Re: Training question.

Post by High Voltage » Wed Aug 13, 2014 11:27 am

Was your pup chasing birds when you did the gun intro? I am not an expert and hopefully others will pipe up but I would back up & have the pup chasing when I fired the gun.

10Sam29

Post by 10Sam29 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 3:50 pm

Definitely bring some type of "fun" item, i.e. bumper, bird, or anything he has fun with into the next training. I wouldn't go back to the gun situation for a few days. If you haven't already, bring him inside with the family preferably in the noisiest rooms in the house and let him acclimate to the sounds. Don't be in a hurry at this stage.

Vman

Post by Vman » Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:14 pm

We only know what you told us, and that is vague. But it sure sounds like a gunshy dog to me. You now need to fix the problem. Go back and do it right. Get the dog bird CRAZY and no gun fire. When you have a bird crazy dog you then let the dog chase the flighted birds and blank off with the .22 caliber behind your back and even covered with a gloved hand to muffle the sound. Then read the dog. Go slowly and I would advise you have a pro or experienced person help you with this. You are on thin ice. :oops:

ROLLAND731

Post by ROLLAND731 » Wed Aug 13, 2014 7:16 pm