What is Derby Broke ?

oilcan

What is Derby Broke ?

Post by oilcan » Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:06 pm

I was told recently in the trailing world my Dog would be considered Derby Broke.
Could someone give me a definition of this i have no experience at all in field trials.

Thanks

PntrRookie
GDF Junkie

Re: What is Derby Broke ?

Post by PntrRookie » Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:46 pm

In a nutshell it means he the dog will hold point until u get there and flush...then all "heck" can break loose!

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:13 pm

The dog can go for the bird when the handler flushes it and go on the shot , but must show a nice point /independence / effective covering of the ground/ working for the handler etc. etc.

Now a days , in A.F. derby stakes the winning dog is "usually" broke to flush and shot too.

10Sam29

Post by 10Sam29 » Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:42 pm

I like PntrRookie's description.

oilcan

Post by oilcan » Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:37 pm

WOW ok that's interesting.
So just to be sure the retrieve has nothing to do with this correct ?

Neil
GDF Junkie

Post by Neil » Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:31 am

In AKC, a dog is a Derby from 6 months to 2 years, the dog must point(staunch) but does not get extra credit for steady to wing and shot. And does not need to back. For some judges a flash point is all that is needed, and the dog can knock and chase before the handler flushes. For most the dog should establish a definite point.

In American Field, the dog can be up to 30 months, and there are different standards for the Fall and Spring. A Fall Deby should be staunch, cautioned to a back, and can be stopped after a short chase. A Spring Derby should show more maturity, and extra credit is given for being steady, they should back. There is some controversy about falsifying whelping dates, running over-aged dogs, and putting too much pressure on the dogs.

So for "Derby broke" to have meaning, you must know the background of the speaker.