Pointing vs. Flushing

ESS13

Pointing vs. Flushing

Post by ESS13 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 1:28 pm

A close friend of mine wants to get a dog but I am clearly bias towards flushing breeds. I have zero experience with pointers. We will be hunting mostly stocked birds on the east coast near the MET area of NYC. I know he is fairly interested in a GSP or a setter and I don't want to talk him out of a decision he makes on his own. Can you guys post your likes and dislikes about either Flushing or pointing breeds? I want to give him some better input. Thanks.

mnaj_springer

Re: Pointing vs. Flushing

Post by mnaj_springer » Sun Mar 01, 2015 1:43 pm

Tell your buddy to see different dogs work, research lines, and then get whatever he wants. One is not better than the other, but one may be better for him.

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Post by RayGubernat » Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:24 pm

+1 on the seeing both kinds of dogs work.

They do it differently, but both will put birds in the bag of the hunter.

I grew up hunting behind pointers, so that is my natural preference. They are something of a "lazy man's" hunting dog. When they do it right, they go out find the bird, point it and wait 'till you get there to flush and shoot. The pointed bird very often makes for pretty high percentage, close in shots.

A flushing spaniel or retriever, when they do it right, will follow the scent and push the bird into the air without hesitation, so they typically will hunt closer to the gun. Since they harass the bird into the air, and the dog is right under the bird as it gets up, the shots tend to be more challenging and farther out there.

Pointing breed dogs typically need a good bit more training and re-training to do the things they are supposed to do...the way they are supposed to do them. so, if you enjoy training and messing with dogs in the off season, the pointing breeds give you a reason. The flushing breeds do not require that amount of training to be effective in the field.