What's everyone's idealistic dog?

Bacon1676

Post by Bacon1676 » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:49 am

I'm pretty new to the in depth world of hunting. I've hunted behind several different kinds of dogs and have my preferences. But I was wondering what everyone looks for in a dog/puppy's? Meaning what makes a good field trial dog and what makes a good foot dog (physical build as well as mental). What key features do you look for in a puppy to make the dog you want? I'm curious to see what everyone's opinions are.

RayGubernat
GDF Junkie

Re: What's everyone's idealistic dog?

Post by RayGubernat » Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:08 pm

I am partial to pointers because they hunt the way I like to see a dog hunt.'

I like a physically large dog, on the order of 50# for a female and 60# for a male. They tend to last longer in the field and do not beat themselves up running and they are easier to see on point. I like a dog that is high on both ends on point.

I want a dog with tight feet and a reaching stride. I want the dog to have a nose capable of finding scent at the dead run and the ability to hunt to the front without hacking.

I want a dog that comes when I call, goes out when released and turns on command. I want a dog that is honest on its birds(point and hold until I get there).

I want a dog that is smart enough to take instruction without dozens of repetitions, , mentally tough enough to take discipline when it defies a known command, physically and mentally tough enough(some call it grit, endurance or bottom) to hunt for extended periods in hot, cold, wet, muddy or difficult terrain and cover, and driven enough to hunt hard until it falls over on its nose.