FDSB

BirdyBoris

FDSB

Post by BirdyBoris » Mon Nov 30, 2015 5:22 pm

I'm new to the GSP and gun dog world. I was taking a look at my dogs papers and I noticed a lot of FDSB on his AKC papers on sires side. What does this mean? Also relation to Rawhides Clown on sires side and Vom Hesser. On Dam's side Stolzhafens and Rawhides clown as well. I have no idea what these names mean.Any input? Is this considered line breeding as Rawhides clown is on both sides?

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: FDSB

Post by Sharon » Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:41 pm

:) That sounds like a very fine dog!

I don't know who wrote this, but I believe it to be correct:

"The Field Dog Stud Book is the oldest purebred dog registry in the United States having started registrations in and currently maintaining records from 1874. The Field Dog Stud Book currently registers around 5,000 litters each year and has registered several million dogs. In addition to registration the FDSB maintains the results of DNA testing of dogs to promote genetic health.

The Field Dog Stud Book focuses on dogs bred to perform in the field. It supports no conformation showing. This stud book is affiliated with the field trial magazine "The American Field" which is the oldest continuously published sporting dog journal in the U.S.

The FDSB registers dogs of all breeds, but is primarily for pointing, flushing, and retrieving breeds of gun dog. Among some breeds, such as English Setters, the FDSB will register the dog in its particular breed as well as the particular line within the breed such as the Llewellin Setter. Many dogs are registered with the FDSB as well as with other registries and with kennel clubs." quote
Last edited by Sharon on Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:48 pm, edited 3 times in total.

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Post by ezzy333 » Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:42 pm