New to this

ClARKA

New to this

Post by ClARKA » Mon Apr 25, 2016 12:39 pm

Hi folks, I am completely new to gun dog training. Growing up my family had two brittany's both of which i would have loved to hunt with. I always loved the breed and that leads me to my first question. My wife and I have just put a deposit on a Brittany Springer Cross. I have always loved brittany and have some experience with them. We didn't buy the dog to hunt, but I would love it if she did. Am a crazy to think that this mix would make a good bird dog? Im not sure wether to expect pointing or flushing instincts, given the brit is a pointer and the english springer is a flusher, Any thoughts?

setterpoint

Re: New to this

Post by setterpoint » Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:25 pm

hears a though if the dog is a flusher as i think it prob.will be taking arter the springer but will the range be to far out taking after the brit where you cant get a shot but i would hunt the dog and see might make a good one

Steve007

Post by Steve007 » Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:56 pm

ClARKA wrote:Hi folks, I am completely new to gun dog training. Growing up my family had two brittany's both of which i would have loved to hunt with. I always loved the breed and that leads me to my first question. My wife and I have just put a deposit on a Brittany Springer Cross. I have always loved brittany and have some experience with them. We didn't buy the dog to hunt, but I would love it if she did. Am a crazy to think that this mix would make a good bird dog? Im not sure wether to expect pointing or flushing instincts, given the brit is a pointer and the english springer is a flusher, Any thoughts?