Getting Started, E collar Etc.

ClARKA

Getting Started, E collar Etc.

Post by ClARKA » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:09 pm

A while ago, I posted on here about a Brittany/Springer cross that my wife and I have. She is four months old and seems to have the makings of a decent hunting dog. (I think) some had suggested that she may want to flush birds out of range given her breeding,but thankfully i have found she rarely travels more the 30 yards form me and will wait for me to catch up if i call her name. I am assuming this is a good thing coming from the springer side. She will on occasion point, but I would be fine if she is a flushing dog. I took her out in the woods yesterday and she stayed within 15 yards of the trail when sniffing the brush. We didn't find any grouse, however she loves birds. (both live and the frozen pigeon i have.)
I am brand new to this so i was wondering if anyone with experience can affirm or deny that she is on track. I have little access to farmed birds where i am, but am working on getting some pheasants. We are also thinking of getting an E collar, to help keep her closer in the bush. If anyone has any E -collar, tips, including selection and training i would be much obliged.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!

Re: Getting Started, E collar Etc.

Post by kninebirddog » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:37 pm

http://www.kninebirddog.com/understandi ... ollar.html
This is a little article I put together to help understand the e collar

CDN_Cocker

Post by CDN_Cocker » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:44 pm

Good looking dog. I think without much bird exposure, you need to decide what you are going to train her as - pointer or flusher.... You have been keeping her close so to me that sounds like flusher as a pointing dog that close isn't going to be very productive.

mnaj_springer

Post by mnaj_springer » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:47 pm