new puppy

lpk_moe

new puppy

Post by lpk_moe » Wed Aug 17, 2016 6:48 am

I am going to be getting my first GSP puppy Saturday. I am new to the gundogs but looking forward to it. One question I had was regarding toys. I believe I seen somewhere on here about not buying toys that squeak. What is the reason behind it? I know they can be annoying but anything else.

Also any other tips to help the training process would be wonderful. I have bought the perfect start dvd and the puppy development dvd. I also bought the training with Mo book. I also joined a NAVHDA club. I just want to make sure I start him off right.

Anyone have like goals to shoot for at certain ages for puppies. I know they all develop different and progress different but just like a guideline. I do plan to hunt in field trails hopefully one day. One thing that I have learned from you guys from just reading for sometime was to take is slow and let the puppy be a puppy. I do appreciate the knowledge I have found on here.

When do you introduce birds to a puppy. I have had people tell me to wait awhile and just do the wings but from what I have been reading wings are not so good because you don't want them trailing by site. But the reason for not showing live birds was incase the dog caught the bird and got hurt that it might make the pup shy/scared. I am not sure I about that just from when I coonhunting, when pups got there first taste of a coon fight it made the prey drive more.

When are pups ready to start field trails. I know when I competition coonhunted you had to be careful with pups. If you ever got drawn out with a dog that was ill you took a chance on it jumping on your pup and having a major set back.

Thanks
Daniel

shags
GDF Junkie

Re: new puppy

Post by shags » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:39 am

Congrats on the new pup and welcome.

Squeaky toys make the dog want to bite down, and you don't want that (hard mouth) in a dog that you'll want to retrieve.