Puppy Buyers

Montana

Puppy Buyers

Post by Montana » Mon Sep 19, 2016 2:52 pm

I've been breeding Field Bred Springers for about 28 years now... Over the years we've probably had 50 to 60 litters. I get some odd requests at times, as you might imagine. Recently I was contacted by a couple looking for a liver/white female. I replied and said I probably would have a liver/white female available when I breed again next spring. I explained that I already had several deposits for the spring, but more than likely there would be a liver/white female available. The couple replied back and asked if they reserved a pup and didn't like the looks of it when they came to pick it up could they be moved up to first on a list for the following year. I asked specifically what they were looking for and the husband replied that his wife had a certain coloring and head shape in mind and that if she didn't see what she was looking for in the pups we had available could they pass and put the deposit toward a pup from a future litter. There were no questions about our dogs' hunting drive, marking ability, mouth, temperament, health, etc..............the kind of questions I'm used to receiving. I replied back and said I couldn't agree to what they were requesting and suggested they might be more comfortable working with another breeder and said that quite honestly I was very reluctant to accept a deposit when the coloring and the shape of a pup's head were the main criteria in selecting a pup. I tried to be tactful, but they were upset with my reply and said they were sure I'd received many requests for pups based on cuteness...... At that point I just wished them good luck in their search and chalked it up to experience.... They are out there. :wink:

randomnut

Re: Puppy Buyers

Post by randomnut » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:55 pm