Best breed for beginner?

Kaianuanu

Best breed for beginner?

Post by Kaianuanu » Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:37 pm

I have a rescued EP that just doesn't hold a point too well, I'm still a rookie trainer but might be moving to New Zealand soon and won't be able to bring her with me. Quail, pheasants, and rabbits are plentiful there, and I'd love to have a good dog to hunt over there. What pointing breed do you think is the easiest to train and has a strong desire to please? I would really like a close to medium ranging dog that has a natural desire to retrieve and please. I really want a drahthaar but I'm afraid That may be a bit too much dog for me to handle like my current pointer.

Bekahtsa

Re: Best breed for beginner?

Post by Bekahtsa » Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:46 am

NZed ... there are a few good dogs out there.

You may find having worked with the rescue EP, a better bred dog is easier to handle/train right away.

You forgot Canadian geese, ducks, turkeys, deer, possums, rabbits, pigs, goats and the list goes on. I'd be inclined to go towards a Utility gun-dog breed due to the variety of game that can be hunted. The hunting in NZed is going to blow you away ... be prepared! :lol:
Cheers...

bustingcover

Post by bustingcover » Sat Feb 04, 2017 9:01 am

Lab. Amazing desire to please, I've seen rescues turn into great hunting dogs. Close working, strong retrievers, and some of them will even pause for you now a days.

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Post by Sharon » Sat Feb 04, 2017 3:03 pm