Big runners and heavy cover

mrelite

Big runners and heavy cover

Post by mrelite » Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:12 pm

How the heck do you work heavy cover with a big running dog? it just seems so inefficient, unproductive and out of control, LOL spoken from a complete novice!

I am just learning to hunt with my dog, it's my first season and his, often when we go out it is in heavy cover and not flat so as soon as he gets 30 to 50 yards out I can't see him anymore and he can't see me, he will keep working at a fast pace and be out 100 to 200 yards or further, the only way to know where he is is to glance at the Astro GPS handheld. So the Astro will tell me when he goes on point which is already at a delay in real time so I'll take off in the direction and get halfway and the dog is back to moving again leaving me not knowing if birds ran or flushed which in turn leaves the dog basically hunting by himself because I can never get there quick enough and it seems it is a perfect setup for bad habits.

I have found myself not wanting to go into heavy covered areas, in open areas the dog can see me and I can see him and things seem to work much better, I can hit the beeper once and he'll either look back at me to see if I am going in a different direction or he'll just turn and keep working out in front but in heavy cover it's a whole different story.

Scaled (blue) quail is mostly what we are after although we ran into heavy cover issues pheasant hunting as well.

gonehuntin'
GDF Junkie

Re: Big runners and heavy cover

Post by gonehuntin' » Sun Dec 03, 2017 1:24 pm

The Astro and live with it. Once it shows 6" or so, they'll start holding and not running. Until then just stay frustrated. :D

wolski

Post by wolski » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:03 pm

As much as I hate using a bell on the collar it does signal where dog is and when dog stops to point. Not a perfect solution but overall I think its an advantage.

slistoe
GDF Junkie

Post by slistoe » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:12 pm