Boykin Spaniel/Labrador Comparison

MaverickLab

Boykin Spaniel/Labrador Comparison

Post by MaverickLab » Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:27 pm

I currently own a 1 year old, 75Ib. yellow lab. We are thinking about getting a second dog and I am intrigued by Boykin Spaniels. We primarily duck hunt so a lab makes sense but I can't imagine having two large labs in the house. I know you can get smaller labs but those bloodlines come with a pretty steep price tag (the breeders I am aware of). Our current lab we got from a family that bred their pet lab and we have trained him ourselves to hunt. He needs a lot more real hunting experience before I'd say he's a bang up dog but we will get there.

Boykins keep popping up as smaller waterfowl dogs. I have only hunted over and worked with labs so I have no experience with trainability, or how Boykins behave in general. I just have a lot of specific questions about how they compare to the lab.

Are they easy for owners to train themselves? We would ideally train this dog ourselves too but are they as willing to please as a lab?

How much maintenance is needed on their coat? The hair is longer but does it require regular clipping? Can this be done at home or do you need a groomer?

Are they a very vocal dog? We are fine with barking when they hear someone at the door but not continuous barking when people come in the house. Also would prefer they not be yappy when they get excited or are playing.

I keep hearing they can't handle the cold but is that really true or just depends on the individual dog? Our lab showed this season he didn't like the cold water but my previous lab didn't seem to mind at all so it makes me think some dogs are just tougher than others.