New to GSP

Gundog0181

New to GSP

Post by Gundog0181 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 6:42 pm

Hey everyone! I am new to theGSP breed and could use sombre help. I always had setters and they were outside dogs but now have a gsp and she's inside. She's pretty good in the house most times. She's 14 weeks old now. She is crated during the day unless we're home. Then exercise and training in the evening and more chill time. Mostly obedience on the training end now and retreiving. So far she is good on recall, sit and down. Just mainly looking for some pointers on the house. Any help would be appreciated. Not used to heaving a dog in the house either and definitely not a high energy one. Where's the off switch?

Sharon
GDF Junkie

Re: New to GSP

Post by Sharon » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:29 pm

Hate to tell you , but only one off switch- dog needs some hard workout BEFORE you go to work in the morning... running. Or maybe someone could over at lunch and take pup for a good run. They are an energy machine until maybe 10 years of age.( Have had 2 GSPs.)

cjhills
GDF Junkie

Post by cjhills » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:18 am

The energy level will vary depending on bloodlines and individual personalities. She does need exercise most dogs sleep a lot. So hopefully she will get calmer as she gets older. A somewhat regular routine will help. One other thing do not play with her and get her excited in the house. Remember what you allow her to do you train her to do. Be consistent...Cj

s223196

Post by s223196 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:12 pm

We have a female GSP in the house and wouldn't trade her for anything. But first year was pretty rough as far as learning manners in the house. She is 3 now and does a lot better nut does get excited when we have company over.

Steve007

Post by Steve007 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:32 pm