Upland Vest Packs - Buck's Bags

Warrior372

Upland Vest Packs - Buck's Bags

Post by Warrior372 » Thu Sep 27, 2018 6:42 pm

So I have been poking around looking at upland vests for about 3 years now. In the meantime, I have just used a blaze orange marmot hiking backpack which always seemed to be enough for what I needed - spot for a water bladder - my water, a bottle holder on each side - dog's water, zip pouches in the front on the waist belt for shells, spots for me to clip on my Dogtra and Garmin controllers and have easy access to them and a spot to put a raincoat, lunch, first-aid kit and other misc. I have looked at a lot of vests - Q5, WingWorks, various Cabela's, L.L. Bean, Filson, Orvis, Tenzing, and the Buck's Bags Vest. For what I want in a vest - the above list of stuff in the backpack - the Q5, WingWorks, and Buck's Bags vest have always seemed like the best options and they seem to get the best reviews. I actually live in downtown Boise, Idaho so Buck's factory is only a few miles from my house. Every year for the past 3 years I have walked into their factory store to scope out their upland vest and I have never walked out of there with one for a few reasons - 1) I was shocked to see a "Made in Vietnam" tag on a vest when I completely wanted it to be made in Boise, Idaho USA - because they actually make a lot of their products in Boise -- 2) They have a water bladder, but no water bottle holders and -- 3) My backpack seemed to be getting the job done.