storing fish and game on a week-long hunt

BuckeyeSteve

storing fish and game on a week-long hunt

Post by BuckeyeSteve » Mon Oct 07, 2019 10:32 pm

I'm leaving Sunday on a week-long hunt, which I've never done before. I'll be camping, and hunting and fishing each day from the vicinity of the camp. Assuming I have any success, I plan on eating some of what I harvest throughout the week....but I'm hoping to be lucky enough to have more fish and grouse than I need and will be able to bring some home.
I can't imagine that a grouse (or fish) I get on Mon or Tues will stay good unfrozen even on ice in a cooler until I get home Sunday.
Does anyone have any good insight on how to safely handle game for storage? Will dry ice in a cooler freeze meet, or will it only keep already frozen items frozen?
Any good insight would be appreciated.

mm

Re: storing fish and game on a week-long hunt

Post by mm » Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:42 am

One year while out west hunting I stopped to talk to a local person at his business. I told him I had this problem and he froze all my birds and I picked them up when I left. Maybe if you go to town you could find someone like that.

Urban_Redneck

Post by Urban_Redneck » Tue Oct 08, 2019 3:49 am

First things first, you must abide possession limits (usually 2x the daily limit). Also, some states( federal too?) require a feathered wing left on all birds kept until you get home or prepare for consumption. Same regs can apply to fish. If you filet a fish, leave the skin on and make sure the length of the filet is equal or greater in length to the legal size of the fish. A lot of what can happen depends on the officer that is doing the checking. If you're hunting multiple states remember, a South Dakota pheasant looks exactly like a Minnesota pheasant :wink: