Got bit

JNC

Got bit

Post by JNC » Thu Dec 23, 2021 11:21 pm

I’m an amateur compared to most of you. I tried to take a chew away from my wirehair tonight (who definitely is a guard dog and is very protective in general). I took it away and he freak out which is a bit odd. I gave him some commands and have it back which was normal. Then came back a few minutes later and he knew I was there and tried to take it and he clamped my hand. I didn’t realize he drew blood until a few moments later but it definitely is worrisome with us having kids around at times. He’s normally just the perfect badass all around hunting dog who is very protective, but this was intense. He also is fantastic with kids and very gentle ALWAYS.

This is a Christmas bone we have periodically been taking since beginning of the month to make it last. Should we be worried? My girlfriend is upset but I’m thinking we will be ok and it was a freak thing that drew a little blood.

JNC

Re: Got bit

Post by JNC » Thu Dec 23, 2021 11:24 pm

I’ll note it would take a lot more from this for us to remove him from the home. This is not even remotely us looking to rehome. He’s our baby and we will take every precaution. He is our child and will not be left behind.

cjhills
GDF Junkie

Post by cjhills » Fri Dec 24, 2021 6:52 am

JNC
Just be aware that this is a situation that can go downhill quick.
You don't say what the age of the dog is. If he was aggressive once he will very likely do it again. If he goes after a child or a stranger the results can be life changing for the child, the dog and you.
Treating him like he is your baby may be part of the issue.
There are signs that he is not accepting you as the pack leader and signs that you may not accepting your job as the leader. You do not need to be mean. There are things you can't let him do.