Wolf or Coyote???

rpheifer

Wolf or Coyote???

Post by rpheifer » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:13 pm

A friend of mine had this show up on his trailcam and was wondering if it is a wolf or coyote. What do you think?

Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ryan Pheifer
Neenah, WI

natetnc

Re: Wolf or Coyote???

Post by natetnc » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:36 pm

ears look a bit pointed for a wolf.... most likely a coyote

ezzy333
GDF Junkie

Post by ezzy333 » Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:12 pm

Probably a coydog. Too big boned for a yote and too nicely coated. A wolf would normally be longer legged.

Ezzy
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=144
http://www.perfectpedigrees.com/4genview.php?id=207

It's not how many breaths you have taken but how many times it has been taken away!

Has anyone noticed common sense isn't very common anymore.

shume

Post by shume » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:01 pm

I'm no expert but judging by the head I would have to say young wolf. Doesn't look like the head of a coyote to me at all. I know its hard to tell in a picture but it looks a bit large and big boned even for a large coyote.

birddogger
GDF Junkie

Post by birddogger » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:09 pm

Doesn't look like a wolf to me, but also looks a little leggy for a coyote. I am guessing [and that is all it is] it is a coydog.

Charlie
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you are right either way

MTO4Life

Post by MTO4Life » Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:18 pm

Has the pointy ears and snout of a coyote, but I agree... it looks quite leggy. I would say coydog as well.

ACooper
GDF Premier Member!

Post by ACooper » Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:56 pm

Being that you are in WI would say that is a coyote, looks like a big coyote but in WI and other parts of the northern US coyotes can get bigger than some of us are accustomed to.
Last edited by ACooper on Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

twofeathers