Owner Dog Relationship

Meatballs

Owner Dog Relationship

Post by Meatballs » Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:39 pm

I have been hunting over gun dogs now for three years and shot a bunch of birds and seen Brits, DDs, GSP, and mostly my brothers labs Cheyenne and Rocky.

I have developed a fondness for the love i have seen between the owners and dogs. A friend of mine sent me the Ten Commandments of being a dog owner since he found out i am getting my first gun dog in late January. While reading it...all the great times over all my friends and brothers dogs came flooding by. Most notably, the time in camp when the dogs were tired and eating and snuggled up while we all rehashed the days events and the stories their best friends help create....I am looking forward to joining the fraternity of gun dog owners.... :mrgreen: Matt

Brittguy

Re: Owner Dog Relationship

Post by Brittguy » Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:57 pm

You just cannot imagine the treat you are in for. Sounds like you have the right outlook to appreciate the wonderful times that are going to be in your future.

smilinicon

Post by smilinicon » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:47 am

Each day afield with your dog is like a gift.

Great to hear and happy for you. What breed will you be getting?

Cary

Meatballs

Post by Meatballs » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:17 am

I am getting a Deutsch Drahthaar out of South Dakota. From Droll III line.

windswept

Post by windswept » Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:39 pm

I've had a lot of dogs over the years. I've had some that cover ground like a rocket with prey drive coming out of their ears that have only hunting in mind the entire time they are awake. Sometimes a dog like that can be a blast to hunt with but a pain to live with. Those dogs tend to be the envy of my friends but my best memories are being made with dogs that do a good job in the field and can sit on the ground with me while I recline against the pick up and share a sandwich at lunch time with them. For me, that's what it's all about.