Pennsylvania Grouse

UplandJim

Pennsylvania Grouse

Post by UplandJim » Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:17 pm

First off, I'm a newbie grouse hunter but a veteran woodcock hunter.

This is my first season really hunting grouse (in PA). I dabbled a little in my twenties when I lived in NC but to no avail, I lived too far from the mountains in NC.

So far I've spent approximately 6 hours in the woods looking for ruff (I know that's not much but bear with me). I know the area I'm hunting holds grouse because I've seen four and heard one other in late September/early October. The four that I saw were from my truck on two separate occasions.

My question is: Where are they early season?

I've hunted every seemingly possible grousy looking habitat to no avail. I've hunted [big woods w/ laurel thickets] to [select cuts full of brier canes and ten foot tall birch stands] and (seemingly) everything in between.

What's the deal? (I'm hunting dogless btw)

Are they so widely disbursed during the early season that it's hit or miss? Once most of the leafy vegetation is gone will they be condensed to the thickets that I've been on edge walking through expecting a grouse to burst at any moment?

Any comments/advice/wisdom welcome!

Regards,

UplandJim

UplandJim

Re: Pennsylvania Grouse

Post by UplandJim » Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:50 pm

48 views and not a single one of them has flushed a grouse early season?

If you've flushed a grouse early season, all I'm looking for is a description of the surrounding habitat.

Thanks!

UplandJim

SHORTFAT

Post by SHORTFAT » Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:39 am

Sorry Jim... still lookin... just got home from work and I'm headed out... I'll let ya know how we do :|
Heaven goes by favor. If it went by merit, you would stay out and your dog would go in.
- Mark Twain.
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.
-Abraham Lincoln

UplandJim

Post by UplandJim » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:42 am