Flushing Or Pointing Dog

gsp1979

Flushing Or Pointing Dog

Post by gsp1979 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:03 pm

I have a 8 week old GSP puppy and was told by several people that I should train him to flush birds and not to point... Not sure what to do. I hunt stocked birds in PA for the most part. Ive never trained a hunting dog before so im new to this and am going to order some training dvd's and equiptment needed if anyone has any recommendations.

Thanks!!

bb560m

Re: Flushing Or Pointing Dog

Post by bb560m » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:41 pm

gsp1979 wrote:I have a 8 week old GSP puppy and was told by several people that I should train him to flush birds and not to point... Not sure what to do. I hunt stocked birds in PA for the most part. Ive never trained a hunting dog before so im new to this and am going to order some training dvd's and equiptment needed if anyone has any recommendations.

Thanks!!
What does the P stand for in GSP?

deseeker

Post by deseeker » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:44 pm

A gsp is a pointing dog. Perfect start & perfect finish is a good training program dvd set. Have fun training :D

Tyler S

Post by Tyler S » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:21 pm

bb560m wrote:
gsp1979 wrote:I have a 8 week old GSP puppy and was told by several people that I should train him to flush birds and not to point... Not sure what to do. I hunt stocked birds in PA for the most part. Ive never trained a hunting dog before so im new to this and am going to order some training dvd's and equiptment needed if anyone has any recommendations.

Thanks!!
What does the P stand for in GSP?
X2 use the dog for what it was bred for. I like seeing a good flusher work, but to me it's like comparing a helicopter to a fighter jet. Ok all all the flusher folks go ahead and jump me :lol:

birddogger
GDF Junkie

Post by birddogger » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:42 pm

IMO, it would be a sin to have a pointing dog trained as a flusher. I don't think it would work very well anyway.

Charlie