auto, pump, or break

jbonesky

auto, pump, or break

Post by jbonesky » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:41 pm

So I'm brand new to upland/small game hunting.. all I have ever had shotgun wise is New England single shots, and Remington 870's... I'm wanting something versital-ie Upland, and Rabbit.. I'm willing to have a 2nd hunting gun for waterfowl and turkey... So pretty much I'm asking a broad question- what are the pro's/con's and best for a beginer to wingshooting..
auto?
pump?
single shot?
over/under?

and

12ga?
20ga?

Ghosted3

Re: auto, pump, or break

Post by Ghosted3 » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:46 am

Find one that feels best to you. For me it was a over under 16ga. There are sooo many arguments that can be made over which gauge and which style (over under, sxs, pump, semi) that this can go on forever lol.

Corry

rkappes

Post by rkappes » Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:28 am

I'd probably first have a budget in mind then it all comes down to fit and feel. Head to the gunshop and shoulder a few.

12 gauge for waterfowl and turkey...20 gauge for rabbit/upland? Otherwise just buy one good 12 gauge and you'll be set.

What do you currently own?

Mountaineer
GDF Junkie

Post by Mountaineer » Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:48 am

The third shot of a pump-action or semi-auto can be a plus.
The felt recoil reduction of a gas-operated, especially, semi-auto can be a plus....mostso when 3" shells are advised.
Pump-actions are inexpensive, generally, and go bang easily.
Break-open scatterguns, whether O/U or Two-row, can be made safe around a dog the easiest, particularly when walking in rougher terrain, crossing creeks, steep hillsides, etc.
Your physical size re arm length and stength, plus size of your grip can make some bulky pump-actions and semi-autos more difficult to grip correctly or provide as much control.