Refinishing a stock

DeLo727

Refinishing a stock

Post by DeLo727 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:13 pm

Im refinishing a gun, I have never done it before and its coming out amazing. Looks great. But now I'm at a crossroads. Does anyone have any experience with this? I went through all the steps and the wood has been treated with BLO. Now the conundrum is whether to varnish. I know it can be done, but at an amateur level is it really hard to get it to look right, or is it even really necessary? Im pretty sure I know all the answers but Im looking for a little confidence.

tekoa

Re: Refinishing a stock

Post by tekoa » Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:09 pm

All a matter of personal preference as to degree of gloss, feel of finish, etc. If you want a high gloss finish only 'varnish' will do. My preference is for a very low gloss, or at most, a satin finish. If the stock is down to bare wood, I'd use a hand rubbed oil finish, of Tru-oil or Tung, Teak, or Neatsfoot. Easy to do and easy redo in case of dings or scratches.

Real varnish or Lacquer finishes are not difficult to do but take a lot of time and patience to get it right.Polyurethane finishes, also called "varnish" are easier and a bit more forgiving to do and easier to refinish.

If it were me, I'd use Tru-oil on my Walnut stocks and Tung oil on my Maple furniture on my upland guns and game rifles.

I'd only consider a 'Varnish' for guns used in constantly wet conditions, shotguns used for waterfowl........

Anyway you go, it's a fun project...............

DeLo727

Post by DeLo727 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:54 pm