Hunting Dog Training & More    

Popular Searches: Garmin Astro | Dog Collars | Tri-Tronics | SPORTdog

How does everyone connect to the Internet?

How does everyone connect to the Internet?

DSL
30
34%
Dial-up
10
11%
Cable Modem
39
44%
Satellite
3
3%
Don't Know
1
1%
Other Fast Connection
5
6%
 
Total votes : 88

How does everyone connect to the Internet?

Postby grant » Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:43 pm

How does everyone connect to the Internet?
User avatar
grant
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 2098
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 4:06 pm
Location: Rome, Georgia

internet acccess?

Postby tfbirddog2 » Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:01 pm

Grant, is this about the live chat I would love for it to take off but noone is ever on.
User avatar
tfbirddog2
Rank: 5X Champion
 
Posts: 843
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 7:56 pm
Location: Colby,KS

Postby GrouseHunter22 » Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:21 pm

I have dial-up currently but will have DSL in less than 1 month due to the contractors getting the lines put in.
GrouseHunter22
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby Country-Side Breeders » Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:35 pm

I have dial-up...it's hard to get it out here in the country. Although the phone company said that it would be here within the month...that was in MARCH! :( I'm still patiently waiting. By the time we get it out here, there will be something newer and faster out and I'll still be in the dark. Technology for ya, huh? :)
Country-Side Breeders
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby Ayres » Wed Sep 01, 2004 1:00 am

I've currently got a cable modem, but my housing complex is getting a dedicated T-1 line for the tenants at half the price. So as soon as that comes in I'll probably switch over.
User avatar
Ayres
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Flat Rock, IL

Postby OhioOnPoint » Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:01 am

Broadband all the way - Cable/DSL!
User avatar
OhioOnPoint
Rank: Senior Hunter
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Toledo, Ohio

Re: internet acccess?

Postby Ryan » Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:25 am

tfbirddog2 wrote:Grant, is this about the live chat I would love for it to take off but noone is ever on.


What are you talking abouyt. Every night there are a bunch of people on some regulars include myself, addict, casper, QC, 12, TAK, and Goshawk sorry if i forgot anyone. Chat is used every night dont get rid of it. The ones that use it love it.

O I use cable with a wireless router for my laptop.
Ryan
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby Wagonmaster » Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:29 am

T1 at the office, dial-up at home, where we cannot get cable, DSL, or anything except maybe satellite. Not worth it just to get on the Internet. Besides, the kid would spend all his time downloading music and, ahem, "other stuff."
User avatar
Wagonmaster
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 10:22 am
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Postby mountaindogs » Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:27 pm

Country-Side Breeders wrote:I have dial-up...it's hard to get it out here in the country. Although the phone company said that it would be here within the month...that was in MARCH! :( I'm still patiently waiting. By the time we get it out here, there will be something newer and faster out and I'll still be in the dark. Technology for ya, huh? :)


Yeah, dial up here too out in the "sticks." They just started offering DSL out here about 2 months ago, but there's no competition so I think it was about $60 a month or something. I'll have to wait till it comes down... at least a little.

As per Chat I can't load the page even. Is it me? Or my slow dial-up?
User avatar
mountaindogs
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:33 pm
Location: TN

Postby Ryan » Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:31 pm

Its your dial up. Just set the priority of the page to high. It will still take a bit but it will work.
Ryan
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Re: internet acccess?

Postby Ayres » Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:33 pm

Ryan wrote:
tfbirddog2 wrote:Grant, is this about the live chat I would love for it to take off but noone is ever on.


What are you talking abouyt. Every night there are a bunch of people on some regulars include myself, addict, casper, QC, 12, TAK, and Goshawk sorry if i forgot anyone. Chat is used every night dont get rid of it. The ones that use it love it.

O I use cable with a wireless router for my laptop.


tfbirddog2's post was originally made in August, 2004. There weren't a lot of people on the chat at that time. Things have changed!

Oh, and I went to DSL for awhile before my apt complex got in the shared T-1. DSL was a downgrade from cable, and the shared T-1 was a downgrade from DSL (even though they said it wouldn't be affected by the number of people online).

So, after we moved, I went back to the cable modem. It's great.
User avatar
Ayres
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Flat Rock, IL

Postby Ryan » Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:45 pm

I just seen that before your post :oops:
Ryan
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby Birdhunter1 » Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:48 pm

T1 at work, dial up at home but soon to be DSL.
Birdhunter1
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby ezzy333 » Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:59 pm

ADSL at home.

Ezzy
User avatar
ezzy333
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 14461
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:14 pm
Location: Dixon IL

Postby kninebirddog » Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:17 pm

being on the road alot and out where I live I have Dial up and thank God for earthlink....I have only found one small town where i didn't have a local number to dial up on..out in nowhere land in nebraska every where else.lap top and phone line and :D
User avatar
kninebirddog
GDF Premier Member!
 
Posts: 7719
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:45 am
Location: Coolidge AZ

Postby Ayres » Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:08 pm

When I'm out on the road, in a pinch I can use my cell phone (or, at least, I used to be able to). I got the FutureDial software and a data cable. It basically turns your cell phone into a modem.

It's slow like dial-up, but there's nothing cooler than checking your emails while riding passenger down the interstate.

I haven't had the need to use it in awhile and I got a new cell phone so I don't know if my new cell is supported or not.
User avatar
Ayres
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Flat Rock, IL

Postby sweetsong » Mon Feb 13, 2006 10:55 pm

Ayres wrote:When I'm out on the road, in a pinch I can use my cell phone (or, at least, I used to be able to). I got the FutureDial software and a data cable.


Tell me more about this FutureDial software. Where did you get the software? I would like to have something like that when I travel, which seems to be more and more.

I have T1 at school where I teach but i have to suffer with dial-up at home.

Terry
User avatar
sweetsong
Rank: Master Hunter
 
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 2:14 pm
Location: Atwater, Minnesota

Postby Quailhunter » Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:03 am

I just log on to my laptop and what do you know, my neighbors on each side have wireless. :D :D :D
Quailhunter
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby Ayres » Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:29 am

Quailhunter wrote:I just log on to my laptop and what do you know, my neighbors on each side have wireless. :D :D :D


Most of the time it's unsecure too! Ain't that great? (Although, even if it is secure... well... I won't say any more)


I originally got the FutureDial software from RadioShack when I worked there during undergrad. At the time it was bundled together and called SnapDialer (for connecting to the internet) and SnapNums (the program for syncronizing your contacts with your PC). Now I think they just call it the FutureDial Suite and it does everything.

Check it out here: http://www.futuredial.com/Default.aspx

You'll have to get the software and a USB data cable. I currently have Motorola Mobile Phone Tools working with my cell now and I can't remember if I can use that to make my cell a modem or not. I'll have to figure that out before I go and upgrade (since it seems my SnapDial program won't support my new cell without an upgrade).
User avatar
Ayres
GDF Junkie
 
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Flat Rock, IL

Postby bphelps56 » Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:11 pm

Cable modem.
User avatar
bphelps56
Rank: Junior Hunter
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:41 pm
Location: Somerset, KY

Postby bigbyrd97 » Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:35 pm

Used to be dial up, now a cable modem.
bigbyrd97
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Postby Allister Fiend » Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:58 pm

Cable modem at home, Full T1 at the office.
Allister Fiend
 
Location: Please ADD LOCATION

Re: How does everyone connect to the Internet?

Postby Mr. JFH » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:32 pm

iPhone :mrgreen:
User avatar
Mr. JFH
Rank: Junior Hunter
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:11 pm
Location: Florida & Germany (Soon Northern California)

Re: How does everyone connect to the Internet?

Postby Troy08er » Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:54 pm

On the run motorola droid / home cable.
User avatar
Troy08er
Rank: 3X Champion
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:09 pm
Location: Bakersfield, Ca.

Re: How does everyone connect to the Internet?

Postby ROTTnBRITT » Fri Apr 27, 2012 7:21 pm

Droid incredible 2. I only use a computer at work and using the web is minimal.
User avatar
ROTTnBRITT
Rank: Master Hunter
 
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:36 am
Location: NE PA

Re: How does everyone connect to the Internet?

Postby fireangel » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:33 am

I voted cable modem, as that is what I have at home, but also connect via T1 line at work.
User avatar
fireangel
Rank: Senior Hunter
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:00 am
Location: Bismarck, ND

Re: How does everyone connect to the Internet?

Postby phoneman45 » Wed May 02, 2012 9:26 pm

okay I had to respond to this one. I spent 11 years in cable tv and broadband via cable modem is an excellent choice. As I now work for the phone co I have DSl. 3 mg DSL works just as well for most applications as 10 mg cable (run a speed test sometime if u have a cable modem you might be surprised) As for the fellow forum member who said he was about to have DSL installed once the contractors put the lines in if u have a landline phone already the lines were already there. In that case they are installing a remote office. That takes a little while and a lot of money, especially if its fiber fed. But once it is there you will be glad it is. AS for sattelite internet I dont have a lot of experience there but what I have heard from customers is not good (expensive, capping your speed after x amount of usage etc..) If you have DSL keep paying your bill, I need to keep my job hee hee.....

eric
phoneman45
Rank: Junior Hunter
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:36 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky


Return to Polls

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

| Pedigrees

THIS POST : How does everyone connect to the Internet? brought to you by Gun Dog Supply: Dog Training Collars & Hunting Dog Supplies

Click here to tweet this post

  • NOT logged in
  • How does everyone connect to the Internet?
  • ./viewtopic.php?f=87&t=451&start=0&sid=08f2eac4215df4bdcf05914a8d4051a9