Sore Feet / Frozen Soybean Stalks?

Greg Jennings
GDF Junkie

Sore Feet / Frozen Soybean Stalks?

Post by Greg Jennings » Mon Dec 05, 2005 9:33 am

All,

Was out for over four hours yesterday. We had 1/4" of deep-frozen ice out there.

My boys' feet were sore with some bloody scrapes at the end of the day.

The only thing that I saw that could have caused it was frozen soybean stalks. They looked like pungi stakes.

Has anyone else had this experience? I'm new to frozen conditions and have never seen it before.

Best regards,

AHGSP
GDF Junkie

Post by AHGSP » Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:33 am

Morning Greg,

Believe it or not, the ice alone is quite sharp and abrasive on a dogs feet, but I would say the soybean stalks could do some damage as well. I don't have too much of a problem with this, as I rotate my dogs constantly, so I can't say whether a product like "Tuff Foot" might help or not. You might try some dog boots. I run my pups in the Grouse woods on some pretty steep WV and MD terrain with lots of rocks, blowdowns, treetops and brush in the snow and ice in the late season and have never had too much of a problem, but they are also conditioned in this type of terrain all year long. Sorry I can't be of more help.
Bruce Shaffer

"If you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always gotten"
Mark Twain

Bruce, Raine, Storm and GSP's
Almost Heaven GSP's
"In Search of the Perfect GSP";)

Wagonmaster
GDF Junkie

Post by Wagonmaster » Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:03 pm

being from Minnesota, I have of course hunted them in all kinds of winter conditions. not just here in Minn., but down in IA and out in ND. IA is the worst because of the brutal winds.

generally, it is better to do nothing and just let them heal up. a little vaseline on the pads and between the toes helps to prevent the build-up of ice balls, which can cut their feet.