Pup is very ill, please help.

KyCountry

Post by KyCountry » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:49 am

Hey guys,

I was wondering if anyone could possibly shed some light on my current situation. It's been extremely stressful and being that I'm a student and my family is struggling financially, it makes it even more difficult. My girl is a 1 year old GSP. She recently was spayed on Thursday and was going through normal recovery until Saturday. On Saturday, I noticed she wasn't herself at all. She would lay in one spot for 10-12 hours if you didn't force her up to go to bathroom. When taken outside, she would immediately pee and want back inside to lay down. She is extremely lethargic and has had a fever for a few days now. She is also very achy and will yelp when you try and pick her up. It looks to be more severe in her neck and when she bends to drink, it looks very painful and is done very slow. She will eat but not very often and she will still drink water) But her main issue right now is a fever.

On Saturday, I took her to an emergency vet who was anything but helpful. After a proposed $1,000 bill for blood work, x-rays and an over-night stay, I left with antibiotics for her upset stomach (she had diarrhea right after surgery) and something for a possible infection. On Monday, she was no better so I called the clinic that spayed her and they agreed to keep her overnight with an IV and see what they could do. They ruled out parvo and she has been on heartworm/flea/tick medication monthly. They also ruled out an infection from the surgery and believe it's something non-related to her spay. (her incision looks great and she is not hurting around the area) The clinic also switched her antibiotics to see if it would help. They said she looked a little better today (after keeping her overnight) but said they couldn't get her fever down, which is the main concern.