Natural Ablilities Testing ?'s

BluffCountryOutdoors

Natural Ablilities Testing ?'s

Post by BluffCountryOutdoors » Tue May 13, 2008 6:54 pm

Greetings all,

I have my pup up for a Natural Abilities Test this June. I've recieved letters from the LMCNA as well as my Kennel on what to expect but both have been kind of vauge. My questions to anyone of interest are:

A) What is it really all about? Besides field work is there Water work? What is included in one or both of these tests?

B) How best to prepare for this test?

C) Any Tips or Pointers.

I've been working with my dog for the 9 months of his life and feel pretty confident about his ability. His point is probably what lacks the most due to winter being so long here in Minnesota. We lost a lot of training during the winter, inside a lot. He knows his verbal and hand signals as well the whistle well. I'm not going for some amazing testing dog, just my hunting buddy and companion. Thanks for any help on this topic!

-Mikey & Odin

bnjburgess

Re: Natural Ablilities Testing ?'s

Post by bnjburgess » Tue May 13, 2008 7:19 pm

I'm assuming you're testing with NAVHDA. If your dog points birds you pretty much have the field work done. They have to hunt and point birds. They don't have to hold and it's ok if they chase when the bird flushes. In my experience it's best to say very little to the dog, let it hunt. Your dog will also have to track a released pheasant and swim. In the water work you just throw a bumper out and the dog has to swim. It does not have to retrieve. You don't have to wing the bumper way out either, just enough for a few swimming strokes. Check out their website too NAVHDA.org.

good luck

BluffCountryOutdoors

Post by BluffCountryOutdoors » Tue May 13, 2008 9:09 pm

Thanks man,